१२ जेष्ठ २०८१, शनिबार | Sat May 25 2024

Kathmandu 16th April. The seventh event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2022-23, Surya Nepal NPGA Tour Championship will tee off tomorrow at Gokarna Golf Club. The event will be played over 72 holes from 17th April and conclude on 20th April. Cut will be applied after completion of 36 holes, top 21 pros and ties will make their journey to the final 36 holes along with top six amateurs and those who survive the pro cut.

31 professional golfers will test their skills for total prize money of Rs 800,000. The winner of the event will bag Rs 140000, the runner –up will earn Rs 90,000 and the third will get Rs 67000. Top 21 places and ties will earn prize money. Eight amateurs will rub shoulders with the professionals.

Top professionals Bhuwan Nagarkoti, Jayaram Shrestha, Dhana Thapa, Niraj Tamang, Rame Magar, and Rabi Khadka are expected to show some top-class golf over the next few days. They will face a strong challenge from last event champion Saddbhav Acharya and 13th south Asian games double-gold medalist and Nepal number one amateur Subash Tamang. Other notable amateurs on the field are Tashi Tshring, Wangchen Dhondup and Vijay Shrestha Einhaus.

Rabindra Man Shrestha, president of NPGA said, “Performance this year has been very exhilarating both from amateurs and professionals. There has been a fierce competition, which is fantastic for the growth of the sport. At the outset, I express my sincere gratitude to our sponsor Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd. for their continued sponsorship to the sport.”

प्रकाशित मिति : ३ बैशाख २०८०, आईतवार २३:१९